Motive Pulls Its IPO Filing to Take $1.3 Billion Instead
Startups / analysis
Motive Pulls Its IPO Filing to Take $1.3 Billion Instead
The fleet management company's S-1 sat unpriced for nine months while secondary shares traded below its 2022 valuation, and General Catalyst's money looks like the reason it never has to find out at what price the market would have taken it.
Motive, the fleet management software company formerly known as KeepTruckin, announced on Sept. 10 that it had secured more than $1.3 billion in growth financing from General Catalyst's Customer Value Fund and withdrawn the S-1 it had filed on Dec. 23, 2025 for a New York Stock Exchange listing under the ticker MTVE, according to the company. Chief Executive Shoaib Makani, a co-founder, said Motive is now "well capitalized enough to continue operating privately" while remaining positioned for a public listing later.
Announced and closed are the same event here, unusually: General Catalyst's Pranav Singhvi, a managing director, joined Motive's board the same day the financing and the withdrawal were disclosed together, meaning there was no gap in which the market could second-guess the number before it took effect.
The nine months the S-1 sat unpriced
Motive's S-1, led by JPMorgan with Citigroup, Barclays and Jefferies, disclosed revenue of $327.3 million for the nine months ended Sept. 30, 2025, up 22 percent year over year, against a net loss of $138.5 million and a 70 percent gross margin. Annual recurring revenue stood at $501 million, growing 28 percent, with 97 percent of total revenue recurring. As of July 23, 2026, seven months after filing, the offering was neither priced nor withdrawn, an unusually long stall for a company that had already circulated a prospectus.
During that stall, Motive's shares traded on secondary markets in a $1.6 billion to $1.9 billion range, according to analysis from Mostly Metrics, below the $2.85 billion valuation set in Motive's May 2022 Series F and its $3.08 billion mark from a July 2025 senior round. A company whose own secondary market was pricing it below its last primary round is not a company an underwriter can easily price above that round either.
| Round | Date | Valuation |
|---|---|---|
| Series D | April 2019 | $1.25 billion |
| Series E | June 2021 | $2.3 billion |
| Series F | May 2022 | $2.85 billion |
| Series F Senior | July 2025 | $3.08 billion |
- Series D, 20191.25 $ billions
- Series E, 20212.3 $ billions
- Series F, 20222.85 $ billions
- Series F Senior, 20253.08 $ billions
Source: Forge Global funding history, accessed 2026-09-12
The comparison Motive would rather not draw
Motive's S-1 named Samsara as its direct competitor, and the comparison is not favorable. Mostly Metrics' analysis put Samsara's revenue above $1 billion, growing at roughly 30 percent a year with an 18 percent EBITDA margin, against Motive's newly disclosed $600 million in ARR, also growing 30 percent, and a company still burning cash. The two are also opposing sides in ongoing litigation over alleged technology theft.
| Metric | Motive | Samsara |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue scale | $600 million ARR | Over $1 billion |
| Growth rate | 30% year over year | About 30% year over year |
| Profitability | Not disclosed as profitable | 18% EBITDA margin |
Motive's newer numbers are not weak on their own terms. ARR from accounts spending more than $100,000 a year grew nearly 60 percent year over year, and net revenue retention for those accounts topped 120 percent, an improvement on the S-1's growth figures. But growing faster from a smaller, less profitable base than the competitor named in your own prospectus is a harder story to sell to public-market investors than to a single growth-equity fund willing to write a large private check.
A decade-old company still marketed as new
Motive launched as KeepTruckin in 2013 and rebranded in the spring of 2022, according to the company's own account of the change, as its customer base moved beyond trucking into construction, agriculture and energy. It now serves nearly 100,000 customers, ranging from Fortune 500 fleets to small operators, and Makani has said fewer than 20 percent of the commercial vehicles on Motive's platform carry the AI-powered camera hardware the company has sold since 2017, leaving most of its own installed base still unconverted to the higher-margin product line the S-1 leaned on to justify its growth story.
What General Catalyst is actually buying
General Catalyst did not disclose a post-money valuation for the $1.3 billion round, which means the market never learns whether the fund priced Motive above, at, or below its stalled $3.08 billion mark. That silence puts Motive alongside Nvidia's $12.93 billion purchase of Hugging Face, another September deal where a headline number traveled without the underlying per-share terms attached to it. Chief Financial Officer Chirag Shah called the round evidence that "momentum has never been stronger," a claim the company is, for now, not required to defend in front of public shareholders.
Motive's next disclosed financial figures, whenever they arrive, are the first test of whether General Catalyst priced a rebound or bought time, much like Cognition's investors did this month at a 53-times revenue multiple on a company also choosing private capital over a public listing. Until Motive files again, whether with the SEC or in a future funding announcement, $3.08 billion is the last number anyone outside General Catalyst can check its story against.
Sources
More in Startups
- 01Momentic's Mo Finds 19.3 Percent of Labelled Bugs in Its Own BenchmarkThe Y Combinator company's Launch HN post ranks its QA agent above Codex, Claude Code and Devin on a test it wrote and ran itself.
- 02Kalshi's $40 Billion Is 10 Times Run-Rate Revenue; Bedrock's Has No Revenue FigureThe week's two biggest named rounds after Re:Build show a company priced on revenue and one priced on about 10 weeks of paid excavator work.
- 03Thrive Holdings Will Pay $10 a Share for ADT, a 45.6% Premium, With Apollo as Sole Financing SourceThe $15.3 billion headline includes debt; equity is $7.6 billion, and a 30-day go-shop runs to November 28.
- 04Simantic Launches on Hacker News With $600,000 Raised and No Prices for Its Firmware SimulatorThe Y Combinator Fall 2026 startup says AI agents can test chip firmware in simulation, but its site names one chip.