Feather Robotics Prices Its Modular Humanoid at $29,990
Hardware / analysis
Feather Robotics Prices Its Modular Humanoid at $29,990
The $7.6 million pre-seed round values the startup at a $60 million cap, and Feather says its first customer order shipped in 9 months, versus 31 for Figure.

Feather Robotics is selling a modular humanoid robot for $29,990, about half of what Unitree charges for its H2 Edu, according to TechCrunch's profile of the company, published Sept. 24, 2026. The startup, founded in 2025, disclosed the price and its revenue alongside a $7.6 million pre-seed round led by Gradient Ventures.
Feather was founded by Chief Executive Hoa Mai, who previously started a humanoid robotics company sold to 1X, and Chief Product Officer Parsa Bakhtiari, who scaled Tesla's Model 3 production and at one point reported directly to Tesla Chief Executive Elon Musk, according to TechCrunch and a Sept. 25, 2026 investor update Seed Innovations Ltd. filed disclosing its stake in the company.
What $29,990 buys: a 10-hour battery, a 1-meter reach and an SDK
The Feather robot ships with a 10-hour battery, a 1-meter reach and the ability to carry an adult human's weight, according to Seed Innovations' filing. Buyers can adjust arm lengths and other hardware to fit a specific task, and the robot comes with a software development kit that lets outside developers write their own control code instead of using only Feather's own software.
Mai said the pitch is developer access competitors do not offer. "You can't buy a Tesla robot today and develop on top of it," Mai said, according to TechCrunch. The robot is built to run AI models from Nvidia, Skild or Physical Intelligence rather than a single proprietary stack, which positions it as hardware a developer supplies their own intelligence to, not a finished product.
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Price | $29,990 |
| Battery life | 10 hours |
| Reach | 1 meter |
| Pre-seed valuation cap | $60 million |
| Time to first shipped order | 9 months |
The $7.6 million round used a SAFE, not a priced valuation
The pre-seed round used a Simple Agreement for Future Equity, a contract that converts to equity at a future priced round rather than setting a valuation today, with a $60 million cap, according to Seed Innovations' filing. Gradient Ventures led the round, joined by Builder Capital, Geometry, Virgo VC and Seed Innovations itself, which put in $1 million. Gradient Ventures General Partner Darian Shirazi said Feather is the only U.S. startup building a modular humanoid platform, TechCrunch reported.
Feather's $29,990 sticker undercuts Agility Robotics, which prices its Digit 5 humanoid at $200,000 or $8,500 a month for enterprise customers, but the two are not really competing for the same buyer. Agility is selling a finished worker to warehouse and logistics operators; Feather is selling a chassis a developer builds on top of, closer in spirit to how Android licenses an operating system to phone makers than to how a single vendor ships a locked-down device.
TechCrunch's reporting names four other companies working on humanoid or general-purpose robots in the same period: Tesla, which has not opened its Optimus platform to outside developers; Figure, which builds a general-purpose humanoid but keeps the software closed; Sunday, which is building robots for domestic tasks rather than commercial ones; and Unitree, the Chinese manufacturer whose H2 Edu is the price Feather is measuring itself against. None of the four, according to Shirazi's assessment as reported by TechCrunch, is selling a modular platform an outside developer can rebuild in the United States, which is the gap Feather is pricing itself to fill rather than a claim of being cheaper across the board.
Feather says it shipped its first order in 9 months. Figure took 31
Feather built its first prototype in two months and fulfilled its first customer order in nine months, compared with 31 months for rival humanoid maker Figure, according to Seed Innovations' filing, though the filing does not say which of Figure's orders it is measuring against. Feather counts among its customers a manufacturer with $4 billion in revenue, which the company has not named, along with robots working as restaurant cooks in Japan and cleaning science labs, according to TechCrunch.
That nine-month figure reads differently next to Agility Robotics' own numbers: Agility posted $1.8 million in 2025 revenue against a $140 million operating loss ahead of its SPAC merger, a gap its backers are betting a factory ramp will close. Feather has not disclosed a loss figure of its own, only that sales have crossed $1 million, so the nine-month shipping claim cannot yet be checked against a comparable profitability number.
What Feather has not said
Feather has not disclosed how many robots it has sold in total, only that revenue has crossed $1 million, and it has not named the $4 billion manufacturer or the restaurants in Japan running its robots. If that unnamed manufacturer becomes a repeat, named customer, the nine-month shipping timeline will look like evidence a bring-your-own-AI platform can out-ship a vertically integrated one. If it does not reorder, the number is a single data point from a company founded in 2025, not yet evidence of a repeatable process. Feather also has not said what happens to a developer's own control code if the startup itself does not survive to a priced round, a question every buyer signing a $60 million valuation cap into a robot's supply chain is implicitly betting on.
Sources
Sources
More in Hardware
- 01Tesla Moves Its Roadster Flying Demo to Oct. 15, Citing WeatherThe demo, now planned at a SpaceX test site in Texas, has slipped from April 1, 2026 through late April, August and Oct. 1, and production is guided for 2027 or 2028.
- 02Amazon Plans $100 Million Indiana Plant for Its Robot NetworkThe 585,000-square-foot Greenwood factory will employ 300 people and open by 2028, but Amazon's announcement does not name a single robot it will build.
- 03Agility Explores Wheels While Digit 5 Waits Until 2027The humanoid maker has more than $300 million in contracted orders against $1.8 million of 2025 revenue, and its chief robot officer says the wheeled robot in the launch video is only a study.
- 04AERIS-10 Radar's Cost Claim Depends on Whose Bill of MaterialsTwo outlets price the open-source 10.5 GHz phased-array radar's long-range version at $7,200 and $13,000 to $15,000, and neither reports an independent range test.