MMI Raises $125 Million for Its Symani Microsurgery Robot, With About 50 Systems Installed
Startups / news
MMI Raises $125 Million for Its Symani Microsurgery Robot, With About 50 Systems Installed
The Series D works out to $2.5 million of new capital per installed system, and the company has not disclosed a valuation.
Medical Microinstruments, known as MMI, announced a $125 million Series D on Oct. 8 to scale its Symani surgical robot, which it says is installed in about 50 places and has been used in about 3,500 complex microsurgical procedures. Divided out, the round is $2.5 million of fresh capital for every system in the field.
BioStar Capital, an existing investor, led the round, according to MedTech Dive. S3 Ventures, Angelini Ventures and an undisclosed strategic corporate investor took part. The round is announced, and MMI did not disclose a valuation, so there is no implied multiple to calculate and no way to estimate how much of the company the $125 million bought.
What the money is for
MMI said the proceeds go to commercial expansion in the United States and key global markets, to energy instruments and digital surgery capabilities, and to clinical evidence. Medical Device Network described the round as oversubscribed and added hospital microsurgery programmes in cancer and trauma reconstruction, lymphatic repair and nerve repair.
Mark Toland, MMI's chief executive, was quoted by MedTech Dive: "We've proven there is demand for robotic microsurgery at leading institutions around the world." He added: "Now, our focus is translating that adoption into scale."
The installed base is the number that matters for that ambition. About 3,500 procedures across about 50 systems averages 70 procedures per system over the life of the product. That is a cumulative figure with no time period attached, so it says nothing about how often each robot is used in a given month.
- Complex procedures performed (about)3500 count
- Systems installed (about)50 count
- REMIND trial patients allowed15 count
Source: MedTech Dive and Medical Device Network, accessed 2026-10-12
Regulatory status
Symani received an FDA de novo classification for microsurgery in 2024 and clearance for soft tissue dissection in 2025, and it carries a CE mark in Europe, per MedTech Dive. The system filters out tremor and translates a surgeon's hand and wrist motion into movement of miniaturized instruments. It can be wheeled between operating rooms.
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| FDA de novo, microsurgery | 2024 |
| FDA clearance, soft tissue dissection | 2025 |
| CE mark | Held |
| Valuation | Not disclosed |
The Alzheimer's trial
Part of the money funds REMIND, registered as NCT07178210. It tests the safety and feasibility of using Symani to restore drainage pathways in deep cervical lymph nodes in patients with neurodegenerative disease. The idea is to help clear neurotoxins thought to contribute to Alzheimer's progression, MedTech Dive reported.
The FDA allowed enrollment to expand to 15 patients this summer. A 15-patient safety study cannot show that the procedure slows a disease, and MMI is not claiming that in the material we read.
Market context
Medical Device Network cited a GlobalData forecast that surgical robotics will grow at a 6.3 percent compound annual rate to $23.6 billion by 2035. Neither article names a direct competitor to Symani. For other robotics companies raising against thin deployment numbers, see SafeWorld's $12.2 million seed and Mecka AI's $60 million Series B.
The next checkable event is MMI's installed count. If the 50 systems become a materially larger number within a year of this round, the $2.5 million per system will look cheap in hindsight.
Sources
More in Startups
- 01Cloudflare Buys Deno and Names No Price, Only a Plan to Merge Two RuntimesThe deal that put Node.js creator Ryan Dahl's team inside Cloudflare comes with no disclosed terms and a roadmap that runs through two open-source projects, workerd and celld.
- 02Vesta Raises $30 Million Series B From Three Lenders That Already Use Its Mortgage SoftwareThe company reports 12 times revenue growth and 40 percent of tasks handled by agents, and discloses neither a valuation nor a revenue base.
- 03Character.AI Files Chapter 11 With a $20 Million Disney Bid as the Opening OfferThe chatbot company says it will wind the platform down if the court-supervised sale produces no buyer willing to keep it running.
- 04Apple's Huxe Deal Sat in an EU Filing for 122 Days, With No Price and a Non-Exclusive LicenseThe startup shut its audio app on May 28, and the only public terms are a right to hire certain employees and a license to its intellectual property.