ChromeOS Updates End in Mid-2034, Two Years Before Google's Own Device Table
Software / news
ChromeOS Updates End in Mid-2034, Two Years Before Google's Own Device Table
Google's Googlebook FAQ sets one platform-wide cutoff, and the migration path for Chromebooks bought today has no eligibility list yet.

Google said on a support page for Chrome Enterprise and Education customers that ChromeOS devices "will continue to receive regular updates and security patches through mid-2034." A Chromebook sold today with the usual 10-year promise would otherwise be supported into 2036.
The sentence sits in an FAQ titled What the Googlebook announcement means for your ChromeOS devices, under the question of how the announcement should change hardware purchasing and refresh plans. The Register's Simon Sharwood, its APAC editor, reported the cutoff on Sept. 29 and wrote that a buyer's updates "will end in 2034, eight years into the future, not a decade."

What Google's two pages now say
Google's auto update policy page still says that ChromeOS devices receive 10 years of updates from the platform release date. Its device table lists June 2036 as the latest automatic update expiration date, which is where the two-year gap comes from.
The Googlebook FAQ does not retract that table. It adds a platform-wide ceiling above it, so any device whose 10-year window runs past mid-2034 is now covered by a different promise.
| Date | What Google's pages say | Page |
|---|---|---|
| Mid-2034 | ChromeOS receives regular updates and security patches through this point | Googlebook FAQ |
| June 2036 | Latest automatic update expiration listed for a current device | Auto update policy |
| Second half of 2027 | First wave of core Googlebook management capabilities begins rolling out | Googlebook FAQ |
The transition promise has no device list
For devices whose 10-year window extends beyond 2034, Google wrote that it "is committed to supporting your transition to Googlebook OS, with many devices offering direct migration paths." The FAQ also says: "Many newer commercial Chromebook models will be capable of upgrading to Googlebook OS. Details on migration paths and device eligibility will be shared at a later date."
That is a commitment with no model list and no date attached. A school district ordering 2,000 units this autumn cannot tell from either page which of them will be among the "many", and Google has not said when it will publish the list.
The promise also uses the word "newer", which the FAQ does not define. A device sold in 2024 and a device sold in September 2026 both sit under the same 2034 ceiling, but only Google knows where the eligibility line falls.
Licences: Google and its press coverage differ
The FAQ answers the licence question directly: "Your existing upgrade licenses will remain active and fully supported for managing your Chromebook fleet throughout each device's lifecycle." That covers Chrome Enterprise Upgrade and Chrome Education Upgrade licences on machines that stay on ChromeOS.
The Register and Hardware Busters, which also published on Sept. 29, both report that managing Googlebook OS fleets will need a separate licence, on terms Google has not disclosed. The FAQ answer on licences covers existing licences only and does not state a price or a new licence for Googlebook management.
The management tooling is also later than the hardware. Google's FAQ puts the first wave of core management capabilities in the second half of 2027, so an administrator who moves a fleet early would be moving before the console exists.
Who is left holding the date
A consumer who buys a Chromebook this week gets eight years of security patches, which is longer than most laptops stay in service. The people with a real problem are the ones who buy in bulk against the 10-year figure on a listing: districts, hospitals and small offices that budget a device once and depreciate it over a decade.
For them the practical step is to treat 2034 as the planning date and read the model-specific expiration in the policy table only as an upper bound. Owners who want a machine to outlive its patch date have to leave the platform, and one route is a Linux environment such as Frostyard's NSL, which is at v0.4.0. Vendors setting hard limits on what a device may run is also the subject of the Madeira iPhone story. Google said eligibility details will come at a later date, and gave no month.
The next fixed date on the page is the second half of 2027, when the first Googlebook management features are due.
Sources
More in Software
- 01Polyend Publishes Tracker Firmware Source Under a Noncommercial Licence, With Two Binary Libraries Left OutThe tracker-ce repository covers the original Tracker, Tracker+ and Tracker Mini, but the synth and DSP libraries ship precompiled under a separate proprietary licence.
- 02Claude-Mem's Installer Uploaded 30 Days of Prompts to cmem.ai Before Asking; v15.8.3 Adds a Consent PanelThe fix shipped on Nov. 2, but the release notes say prompts already uploaded by earlier versions are not removed, and the GitHub issue was reopened the same day.
- 03Vercel Labs' Agent-Desktop 1.0 Ships With a macOS Bug That Types Into the Frontmost AppThe Rust tool lets an AI agent drive desktop apps through the accessibility tree, and 48 open issues sit against it three days after the 1.0.2 release.
- 04T3 Code Reaches 38.1k Stars in Alpha, and Its Remote Access Docs Say to Treat Pairing Links as PasswordsThe MIT-licensed control surface for Claude Code, Codex and other agents has nearly doubled its star count since August 27. Its own documentation lists what stays risky.