Sunwoda's New EV Battery Ties BYD, Doesn't Beat It
Hardware / analysis
Sunwoda's New EV Battery Ties BYD, Doesn't Beat It
The Chinese battery maker's 15C pack matches a charging time BYD already announced, while its 10,000-station buildout target for 2027 trails BYD's network that hit that mark in August.

Sunwoda unveiled a battery pack on Sept. 16 that charges from 10 percent to 97 percent in 9 minutes, and the number that matters is not the 9 minutes. It is that BYD already announced the same figure for its second-generation Blade Battery, according to Electrek, which reported the reveal from the 2026 New Energy Battery Industry Development Conference in Zaozhuang, Shandong.
The pack, part of a lithium iron phosphate line Sunwoda calls Xingchi 2.0, runs at a 15C charge rate, meaning it accepts current equal to 15 times its own capacity per hour, up to a peak of 1,800 amps at 844.8 volts, according to CarNewsChina's report on the battery's April 2026 unveiling. The pack holds 98.8 kilowatt-hours and can accept up to 1.44 megawatts of charging power at its peak, the outlet reported. For comparison, a typical US home draws roughly 1 to 2 kilowatts on average, so the pack's peak intake is close to a thousand homes' worth of simultaneous power flowing into one vehicle. Sunwoda's own claimed rate adds about 100 kilometers, or 62 miles, of range for each minute plugged in, and the pack still reaches 10 percent to 97 percent in 15 minutes at minus 20 degrees Celsius, according to CnEVPost.
Where Sunwoda is actually ahead, and where it isn't
Hongqi already charges faster on a different metric, reaching 10 percent to 70 percent in 3 minutes 41 seconds, CnEVPost reported, citing the automaker's own figures. Sunwoda's 9-minute number ties BYD's, rather than beating either rival. Sunwoda is not the fastest charger on the market; it is the third automotive supplier in China to reach roughly the same ballpark in 2026.
The pack Sunwoda showed is a vendor-supplied figure, measured under conditions the company has not fully disclosed, and Sunwoda's charging speed claims have not been independently verified by a testing lab.
What a 15C rate actually asks of a battery
The C-rate describes how fast a pack can be charged or discharged relative to its own stored capacity: a 1C rate charges a battery in about an hour, and 15C compresses that to a theoretical four minutes if sustained at full current the whole way. No pack actually holds 15C from empty to full, which is why the real figure is 9 minutes for a 10-to-97-percent window rather than a flat charge-in-four-minutes claim. Reaching 15C without the pack overheating or degrading requires an LFP chemistry that tolerates high current better than the nickel-based chemistries used in most long-range EVs, which is why Sunwoda, BYD and Hongqi are all building their fastest-charging packs on LFP rather than nickel manganese cobalt cells.
The same event doubled as a sodium-ion pitch
Sunwoda used the Zaozhuang conference to position a second, unrelated chemistry: sodium-ion cells the company says deliver more than 20,000 charge cycles at room temperature and more than 10,000 cycles at high temperature, according to CarNewsChina's April report on the company's roadmap. Sunwoda's own executives described sodium-ion as suited to low-voltage vehicle systems and entry-level models rather than the high-performance EVs the 15C pack targets, citing the chemistry's lower energy density and its reliance on more abundant raw materials than lithium. The two chemistries are aimed at opposite ends of Sunwoda's product line: speed and range for flagship EVs from the LFP pack, and lower cost for cheaper vehicles from sodium-ion.
The infrastructure gap is bigger than the pack
A fast battery is only as useful as the chargers built to feed it, and here the gap is wider. Sunwoda's own target, announced at the same conference, is to build 10,000 megawatt-class flash-charging stations by the end of 2027, according to ChinaEVHome, with each charging gun delivering up to 2.1 megawatts. BYD had already completed its 10,000th flash-charging station by August 2026 and is targeting 20,000 by the end of the year, ChinaEVHome reported. XPeng opened its own first megawatt-class station, in Hong Kong, on Sept. 15, 2026.
| Company | 2026-2027 milestone | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sunwoda | 10,000 megawatt stations targeted by end of 2027 | ChinaEVHome |
| BYD | 10,000th flash-charging station completed August 2026, 20,000 targeted by year end | ChinaEVHome |
| XPeng | First megawatt-class station opened in Hong Kong Sept. 15, 2026 | ChinaEVHome |
Sunwoda is promising, on a roughly 15-month clock, a station count BYD has effectively already banked. Whether Sunwoda can build 10,000 stations in that window is unproven; the company has not disclosed how many it has built to date.
The warranty claim nobody has tested yet
Sunwoda says the pack carries a 10-year or 300,000-kilometer warranty with no limit on ultrafast charging sessions for personally owned vehicles, and the company frames this as evidence against the common assumption that repeated fast charging degrades lithium-ion cells faster than slow charging, according to Electrek's report. That framing is Sunwoda's own; no independent lab has published cycle-life data for the Xingchi 2.0 pack confirming the warranty claim holds at the 15C rate advertised.
Who is actually buying it
Electrek's report names Geely, Dongfeng and GAC as customer brands for Sunwoda's platform, though it does not specify which of those automakers has committed to the 15C pack specifically versus other products in Sunwoda's lineup. Sunwoda also released what it calls the "Omnipotent, Boundless" ecosystem, combining solar generation, battery storage and the flash-charging stations into one platform aimed at energy companies, according to Electrek.
What would change the picture
The number to watch is not the 9-minute charge time, which three Chinese suppliers can now roughly match. It is station count actually energized, not announced, twelve months from now. If Sunwoda's 10,000-station target slips the way many announced charging buildouts have, the pack's speed will matter to owners who can find a compatible station and to no one else. Tesla's own Cybercab is facing a federal safety audit over a different question, whether the hardware performs as marketed once it reaches customers rather than a conference stage, which is the same test Sunwoda's claims have not yet passed. Meanwhile, Toyota's bZ EV sales are climbing as the broader US market shrinks, a reminder that charging speed alone does not decide which vehicles actually sell.
Sources
More in Hardware
- 01BHP's Battery Locomotives Save 10%, Not the Fleet-Wide 30%Four years after ordering four battery-electric locomotives, BHP has two running in the Pilbara, saving fuel only when paired with diesel units, and a full fleet switch is still contingent on trial results.
- 02Chattanooga Utility EPB Buys a $22 Million Quantum ComputerEPB is running its own engineers on the machine before it rents time to outside researchers in October, and the fellows' first job is scheduling electric switches, not chemistry or cryptography.
- 03Cornell's Battery Bath Skips Shredding, Cuts Costs 56%A Cornell lab published a process that dissolves the layer that kills spent lithium-ion electrodes and puts them straight back into a new cell, without the shredding step every other recycling method uses.
- 04Nvidia Ships a Billion RISC-V Cores, Names None of ThemThe chipmaker's own Linux driver documentation for the GPU System Processor, which runs on four RISC-V cores, never uses the term, even as Nvidia says it shipped about a billion such cores in 2024.