Snap Prices Specs at Nearly 3 Times Meta's Glasses
Hardware / analysis
Snap Prices Specs at Nearly 3 Times Meta's Glasses
Snap capped the first production run of its $2,195 Specs at 100,000 units, a number that says more about the bet than the price tag does.

Snap opened preorders for its Specs AR glasses at $2,195 on Sept. 16, capping the first production run at 100,000 units and setting shipping for fall 2026 in the U.S., U.K. and France. Buyers pay a $200 deposit now and the remaining $1,995 when the glasses ship, according to Snap and UploadVR's reporting on the launch.
The price puts Specs nearly three times above Meta's Ray-Ban Display, which sells for $799, and the gap is not incidental. Snap built Specs around two Snapdragon processors and two built-in displays, one per lens, where Meta's glasses run a single Snapdragon chip and a single display, Android Headlines reported. Snap positioned Specs at businesses first rather than at ordinary consumers, pointing to partnerships with Nvidia, Salesforce and AWS aimed at letting companies build on the hardware rather than at shoppers deciding between two pairs of smart glasses on a shelf.
| Snap Specs | Meta Ray-Ban Display | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $2,195 | $799 |
| Displays | 2, one per lens | 1 |
| Processors | 2 Snapdragon chips | 1 Snapdragon chip |
| Primary market | Enterprise | Consumer |
What a 100,000-unit ceiling buys Snap
A production cap that low, for a company the size of Snap, reads as a hedge rather than a shortage. Building two display modules and two application processors into a single headset multiplies the most expensive components in the bill of materials, and Snap has not disclosed what that assembly costs to build, only what it charges. Capping the run at 100,000 units lets Snap sell every unit it makes without needing to guess demand for a device with no track record at this price, and it turns a possible glut into a waiting list, the more forgiving problem for a hardware team to have.
- Snap Specs2195 $
- Meta Ray-Ban Display799 $
Source: Android Headlines, Sept. 2026, citing Snap and Meta pricing
From a developer preview to a Beverly Hills price tag
Snap first showed Specs hardware at the AWE conference earlier in 2026, then held the pricing and shipping announcement at an event in Beverly Hills in September, Android Headlines reported. The gap between those two moments matters for how to read the $2,195 figure: Snap had roughly six months between a developer-facing demo and a purchasable price, time it used to line up Nvidia, Salesforce and AWS as named partners rather than to bring the price down toward Meta's. Nvidia is supplying what Android Headlines described as an open-source XR AI platform that outside businesses are already building on, and Salesforce is working with Snap to give companies using Specs access to its agentic software platforms. Neither partnership comes with a dollar figure attached in Snap's own materials, which makes the $2,195 unit price the only hard number in the entire enterprise pitch.
The recurring charge under the hardware price
Snap paired the launch with a Verizon partnership that lets U.S. buyers add a cellular data plan to Specs for $10 a month if they already carry Verizon service, or $20 a month if they do not, with matching deals through EE in the U.K. and Orange in France. That is a subscription stacked on top of a device that already costs nearly three times its nearest rival, and it is the part of the business Snap can bill every month rather than once. Chief Executive Evan Spiegel has framed Snap's broader AI push around what he called "an international and thoughtful response" to safety concerns, saying the industry should focus on "actual potential harms rather than imagined harms," a comment Android Headlines tied directly to the Specs launch rather than to Snapchat's core app.
Specs Intelligence is the software bet behind the hardware price
Alongside the pricing, Snap introduced Specs Intelligence, an assistant it says works across Specs, iPhone and Mac and anticipates what a user needs rather than waiting for a prompt, according to Snap's own announcement. In the preview, it connects to Gmail and Google Calendar to surface meeting prep and travel plans. Snap said the service uses on-device processing and secure cloud infrastructure, and that "Snap personnel cannot view or access the personal content you use with the service," with that content excluded from AI model training or ad targeting. Snap has not named which company's models power Specs Intelligence, and it has not published what the service costs once the free preview period ends.
What Snap has not said
Snap did not disclose a concrete field of view, weight or resolution figure alongside the $2,195 price, details a buyer would normally expect before committing a $200 deposit to hardware that has not shipped. It also has not said what happens to the 100,000-unit cap if demand runs past it, or whether a second production batch is already funded. Those numbers, not the ones Snap did publish, are the ones that will decide whether Specs is a wearable Nvidia can point to as proof its enterprise AI platform works, or another hardware category that priced itself for developers rather than for the market it needs to reach the way Apple's own smartwatch pricing settled into a narrower band after its first run.
Sources
More in Hardware
- 01Dettmers Says a 552-Billion-Parameter Model Fits on a MacBookThe Carnegie Mellon professor's own arithmetic on a smaller model checks out, but the code behind his biggest claims has not shipped and the two models he compares carry different licenses.
- 02A2RL Racers Close the Gap to Human Drivers to 0.85 SecondsEvery car at Imola and Laguna Seca ran the same Dallara-based chassis and sensor stack, which means the lap-time gap to human drivers is now almost entirely a software problem.
- 03T-Rex and 4 Rivals Are Racing to Teach Robots to FeelFive research groups published tactile-manipulation datasets in 2026, and the one with the most data says robots still need more than 3 times that much to reach a breakthrough.
- 04Intel Meets Half of CPU Demand, and Margins Jumped 12 PointsChief Executive Lip-Bu Tan said Intel can fill only about 50 percent of leading-edge chip orders, a shortage that arrived alongside a 12-percentage-point jump in adjusted gross margin.